Header Ads

Senator Dino Melaye Crowned the National Assembly's 2016 Senator of the Year

Senator Dino Melaye, the chairman of the Nigerian Senate committee on Federal Capital Territory (FCT), has been named 'Senator of the Year' for the 2015/2016 Legislative Year.

A statement issued on Tuesday by the Senate Press Corps, said it has found Senator Dino Melaye worthy of being selected for the "2016 Senator of the Year" award after emerging under the category ahead of others.

At the Awards/Dinner event held on Wednesday night at the International Conference Centre, in Abuja, the Press Corps, stated further that the outspoken lawmaker was specifically chosen because of Bills sponsored by him, motions brought by him on the floor of Senate, point of orders raised, legislative activism at committee levels, vibrancy on the floor, knowledge of Senate rules and fidelity to parliamentary duties.

Below is a list of awards and its recipients at the 2016 National Assembly's Press Corps Awards;

1. Former Senate President, David Mark - Parliamentary Leader of the Decade
2. Senate Leader, Ali Ndume - Parliamentary Media Award for Leadership
3. Senator Emmanuel Andy Uba - Lawmaking Facilitator of the Year
4. Senator Dino Melaye - Senator of the Year
5. Abiodun Olujimi - Gender-Rights Senator of the Year
6. Senator Samuel Anyanwu - Senate Committee Chairman of the Year.
7. Senator Kabiru Gaya - Outstanding Grassroots Parliamentarian
8. Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe - Most Innovative Constituency Project of the Year
9. Senator Barnabas Gemade - Apostle of Peace in the Senate
10. Senator Gbenga Ashafa - Parliamentary Advocate for Infrastructural Development
11. Senator Ahmad Lawan - Longest Serving Parliamentarian
12. Olajide Owolabi Adelami, the director of procurement at the National Assembly - Parliamentary Bureaucrat of the Year.

Below are a list of awards and recipients in the journalist's category;

1. Daily Trust's Ismail Mudashir - Senate Investigative Reporter of the Year
2. Taiye Odewale of Blueprint - Reporter of the Year (print)
3. Sumner Shagari Sambo of TVC - Reporter of the Year (TV)
4. James Itodo of FRCN - Reporter of the Year (radio)
4. Francis Ojo - Photo-journalist of the Year (Champion Newspaper)
5. David-West Okpoko - Cameraman of the Year (TVC)
6. Aminu Marins Omoye of the Nigerian Observer - Most Active Press Corps Executive.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.